Translator from GOOGLE

INDEX 

Popular Posts/Articles:
BIC Techno Formula: bic-techno-formula.html 
BIC Dufour Wing & Starting Windsurfing: my-bic-dufour-wing-and-how-i-started.html 
Tabou Rocket 125: tabou-rocket.html 
History of Windsurfing: history-of-windsurfing.html
Heavyweights: heavyweights-and-windsurfing.html
Physics of Windsurfing: jim-drakes-windsurf-physics.html  
Fanatic Shark: fanatic-shark.html
Formula and Long Boards: formula-boards-and-longboards.html
Light Wind Section: light wind section.html

Getting Started: 
How I started Winter Sailboarding: how-i-started-winter-windsurfing.html
How I Started Shortboarding how-i-started-shortboarding.html
How YOU can start windsurfing: how-you-can-start-windsurfing.html
 
Parts of a Sail/Windsurf board discussed:
Sailboards sailboards.htm
Fins: fins.html and how to repair them ...
Sails: sails.html                                         
Sail Materials: sail-materials.html                                 
Masts: masts.html
Mast Bases: mast-bases.html
BOOM: boom.html                                
Accessories: accessories.html

My Boards and Reviews:
AHD FF 160 liter: how-i-started-shortboarding.html  
BIC Dufour Wing: my-bic-dufour-wing-and-how-i-started.html
BIC Techno Formula: bic-techno-formula.html 
Fanatic BEE 124 LTD: fanatic-bee-124-ltd.html
Fanatic Ultra CAT: fanatic-ultra-cat.html
MS-2 vs Pursuit: maui-sails-pursuit-vs-ms-2.html 
Mistral Equipe I LCS-XR: mistral-equipe-i-lcs-xr.html
HotSailsMaui SpeedFreak 8.5: HSM SPF 8.5.html
JP SuperLightWind/SLW: JP SuperLightWind
Mistral Competitions SST: Mistral COMP SST

Health & Safety:
Safety First: safety-first.html
BEE stuff: bees.html

Other:
Windsurfing in Montrealwindsurfing-in-montreal.html
Original Journal Entries: original-journal-entries.html 
New journal entries: new-journal-entries.html
Newer journal entries: newer journal entries.html

Bloggingblogging.html




Montreal WindSurf Shops - they ship !!

Pour le français il faut juste le choisir dans GOOGLE TRANSLATE en haut
Falls Sie es auf Deutsch möchten - dann ist da GOOGLE TRANSLATE oben 
Si deseas ver en español - seleccionar langauge en Google translate

Just thought I would put in a good word for the local shops.
Even though they are NOT helping me make money with my blog :-)

It is IMPORTANT to note that even if these shops are in Montreal, many of them do internet on-line business - often shipping in North America is free. This business is often what keeps the shops afloat - pardon the pun ...

CLICK on IMAGES to go to their websites

auventfou is well known for their supply of used equipment - from learner to expert stuff.
Yvan and René just recently added Tabou boards to their line of new stuff.
They can be found just east of the Island in the Industrial sector...



2-rad now has a good stock of Fanatic boards and SUPs.
Bruno is well known for his expert board repairs and speed on the water.
He can be found in the industrial sector just off Côte Vertu.



30noeuds is on the South Shore.
They carry some interesting things like windskates...



WindSpirit is also on the South Shore, but a little further :-(
They have the largest windsurf board repair shop in town ...
Benoit Gauthier used to be the board shaper for Wind Obsession boards !!



In case I forget - for Angulo boards and Gun Sails ...
Speak to Bruno Courtemanche of VoileLibre ...
He works out of Sherbrooke ...



Sharks used to have windsurf equipment, but seem to have switched to the kite world.
They are still known for a good selection of water wear.
Their shop is in Laval ...



For sail repair it is NOT quite as convenient as having all these choices ...
They seem to hang around the SouthShore near the Granby Zoo :-(
Another option is to leave them with the local shops - and WAIT :-(
Moral of the story - don't bust your sail !!

Loopee used to be here near Montreal
but now is in Maryland ??

What Sail Size to Use ??

Before we go too far, please realize this analysis was performed for heavyweights in light to mid-winds. Not speaking about B&J/bump n jump, free-style nor wave sailing. Fairly flat water for heavy-weights ...

Most readers of forums and blogs are familiar with the James Douglass sail calculator:
http://jimbodouglass.blogspot.ca/2010/11/updated-windsurf-calculator-online.html

You put in your weight and voilà you have a guideline on what sail to use under which wind speed.
Here is a sample for 230 pounds which unfortunately is my current weight.
Luckily I have lost some weight recently !!

Click the graph to see it better













So, I used this data as a guideline and eventually drew up a table of numbers for which sails I used under which conditions... Then I plotted these numbers against the suggestions above:

Click the graph to see it better















Since I use kph, that is the measure I plotted against. Ironically the lines cross at the 8.x m² sail mark. THAT is my MOST used sail size for long boards AND short boards - due to the light wind nature in our area. The sails I use follow a more logarithmic trend than the other polynomial trend.

While I was Cape Hatteras about two(2) weeks ago, I had the honour of sharing the house with a fellow heavyweight whom we called King Kong/KK, due to his size. KK spent a month at Hatteras and was known to go out no matter what and usually clocked about 80 km per day on the water. His top speed was about 42 kph. He also used MUCH smaller boards and sails than myself and Helmut, another heavyweight in the house. King Kong's data looked a little different :

Click the graph to see it better















In this case both lines are following a polynomial trend, but King Kong typically uses a smaller sail than suggested until about 60 kph.

For me this data shows it is important to know what works for you and how far you can go. When I saw KK on an 86 liter board with a 4.8 sail, I could NOT believe my eyes !! The beauty of Hatteras is : when you go in the water it is typically shallow - EVERYWHERE... and THAT is why people like to try stuff there. Here at home we do NOT have such winds regularly and Hatteras is the place to try them.

Hope these numbers peak your interest in what works for you and how it compares. Would be nice to have some database that collected such data - where people live, how much they weigh and what works for them :-)